Books I need to read in 2023 otherwise I’m asking for a refund.

“We have talked so much of travel,” James said. “I wanted to give you the world.”

Can you refund an entire year of your life? Asking for a Hannibalobsessed book dragon.

First and foremost, happy new year folks. I’m not one for New Years resolutions and platitudes but I AM one for setting bookish goals and ensuring I stick to them. With that said, let’s take a dive into my TBR and see which books I need to get on top of this year shall we?

  1. You Deserve Each Other by Sarah Hogle.

“I say it all the time, I just say it very, very quietly. I tell you when you’re in another room, or right after we hang up the phone. I tell you when you’ve got headphones on. I say it after you shut the door behind you. I say it in my head every time you look at me.” 

Can someone treat me to this, pretty please? It’s not like it’s not been on my TBR since April 2022 or anything… This book right here ended up on my TBR as most of the books on my TBR do, an incredible twitter user posted a snippet of this book and the one scene I read was so darn cute that I had to run to Goodreads and add it to my list, stat! It’s marketed as an enemies-to-lovers, which are, without the shadow of a doubt, the best books out there (if you disagree go argue with a wall) and I can’t wait to meet Naomi and Nicholas (you know it’s going to be good when the main characters have matching names). If this book disappoints me I’m taking a long walk of a short pier, goodbye all *insert crying into ice cream gif here*

2. Terms and Conditions by Lauren Asher.

“I’ll give you anything you want—anything at all—so long as you give me a chance to make you as happy as you make me. A dog. A family. A home. I want it all. These are my terms and conditions, take it or leave it because I’m not open to negotiations.”

As much as I loved Rowan and Zahra’s story, I could hardly contain my excitement when I discovered that the sequel would focus on Declan and Iris. Oh how I love when authors reward us with a healthy dose of foreshadowing and a juicy little side romance. I have a strong feeling this sequel will outdo the first book for me and I cannot wait to swoon over Iris and Declan’s story! (Mind you, that quote up there is a tad…cheesy but fear not, I’m keeping an open mind).

3. Chain of Thorns…and Chain of Iron by Cassandra Clare (I didn’t get around to reading it last year leave me alone).

“Someone who broke your heart is often not the person who can mend it.” 

So um…big books scare me. It’s the truth, I cannot lie to you all any longer. To sit behind this screen and tell you that I ENJOY reading a book over 500 pages would be dishonest and I may be many things but a liar I am not. I’ve yet to name a Cassandra Clare book I haven’t enjoyed so clearly I do have the courage to pick up big books but there’s just something about the world-building, hundreds and thousands of characters and multiple plot lines in a Cassandra Clare book that goes right over my head.

Should I probably re-read Chain of Gold because it’s been almost two years and I can’t remember a damn thing besides how much I freaking love Cordelia? Yes. Will I do that? No. Regardless, I can’t wait to dive back into the world of the Shadowhunters and experience all the angst that only someone as amazing as Cassandra Clare could write. Truly top tier angst, I once again ask, William Shakespeare WHO?

4. Twisted Series by Ana Huang.

“If you wanted, I would burn down the world for you.”

I’m reading this series by force this year and no-one can stop me. Not a single human out there can get in my way, I have the Darkling on speed-dial. Speed-dial I tell you! Anyway, back to the series at hand. I know the old saying cautions us against judging a book by its cover but the covers of these books look absolutely incredible so judge I shall. I’m either going to develop a new obsession or hate these books, only time will tell. More on this soon.

5. This Woven Kingdom by Tahereh Mafi.

“You have consumed my thoughts since the moment I met you,” he said to her. “I feel now, in your presence, entirely strange. I think I might fetch you the moon if only to spare your tears again.” 

I am painfully late to picking this book up and this may sound trivial but I am furious at myself for not hauling a physical copy of this book. Alas the £2.99 on the kindle store was too hard to resist, sigh. I don’t know about you guys, but I wasn’t the biggest fan of the Shatter Me series but when I heard about this new fantasy series inspired by Persian mythology, I was instantly sold. I know I know, if I was that hooked by the concept I would have picked it up by now but oh well, that’s what 2023 is for right? A moment for that quote, good grief Tahereh are you trying to kill me with angst??

Which books are YOU reading by force this year?

Bookishly Yours,

Canbefoundfangirling x

Leave a Comment